IUMRS Sômiya Award


The Sômiya award is named in honor of Dr. Shigeyuki Sômiya, Emeritus Professor of the Tokyo Institute of Technology, and later Dean at Teikyo University of Science and Engineering. Dr. Sômiya is a winner of the MRS Medal and the Japanese Scientific Academic Award.

Professor Sômiya spent his post-graduate years in the U.S. and embarked on a series of collaborative research and exchange visits in many countries, starting in 1969 with the U.S.-Japan Workshop in Ceramics — the very first in materials science. He also actively pursued joint work with colleagues in Europe, and brought many international materials gatherings to Japan.

The objective of the Sômiya award is to encourage international collaboration in materials research and recognize success in such collaboration. One award is presented to a research team consisting of members from at least two continents.

Nomination / Application & Selection

The following criteria are used by the IUMRS Commission on Awards for selection:

  • The team to be honored must have collaborated across at least two continents some time during the last decade.
  • The collaborative work must be of the highest quality and well recognized by the international materials community.
  • The impact on technology or society is also a major factor.
Awards Shigeyuki Somiya

Dr. Shigeyuki Sômiya

Tokyo Institute of Technology

List of Past Sômiya Award Winners

Liming Dai
Case Western Reserve University, USA
Chennupati Jagadish
Australian National University, Australia
Ruslan Z. Valiev
Yuntian T. Zhu
UFA State Aviation Technical University, Russia
North Carolina State University, USA
John A. Kilner
Imperial College London, UK
Mildred S. Dresselhaus
Ado Jorio
Mauricio Terrones
Riichio Saito
Morinobu Endo
Marcos Pimenta
Antonio G. Souza Filho
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Brazil
Instituto Potosino de Investigacion Cientificay Technologica, Mexico
Tohoku University, Japan
Shinshu University, Japan
Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Brazil
Universidade Federal do Ceara, Brazil
Ivan K. Schuller
Yvan Bruynseraede
University of California, San Diego, USA
Catholic University of Leuven, Belgium
Terence Langdon
Zenji Horita
University of Southern California, USA
Kyushu University, Japan
C. N. R. Rao
Anthony Cheetham
JNCASR, Bangalore, India
University of California at Santa Barbara, USA
Klaas de Groot
Fu Zhai Cui
IsoTis NV, Holland
Tsinghua University, China
Antoni Tomsia
Jose Moya
University of California Berkeley, USA
X. R. Wu
J. C. Newman, Jr.
Beijing Institute of Aeronautical Materials, China
NASA Langley Research Centre, USA